Saturday, March 25,2023 03:39 AM

The Newark Fire Division Headquarters is located at 480 Clinton Avenue and currently operates 16 Engine Companies, eight Ladder Companies and two Rescue Companies through 16 fire stations located throughout the City of Newark.

Our 16 stations are organized into four Battalions under the command of a Tour Commander. There are four separate shifts providing 24/7 coverage, with each shift comprising separate groups of personnel and a dedicated Tour Commander. A Safety Battalion Chief is also on duty each day.

The Newark Fire Division also operates multiple Special Operation Units that handle specialized emergencies. Specialized Units within the Division include:

  • Hazardous Materials Response
  • De-Contamination Units
  • Mobile Lab Unit
  • Medical Ambulance Bus
  • Urban Search and Rescue
  • High Angle Rope Rescue and Confined Space Rescue

We also utilize a Quick Attack Vehicle (QRV-1) and a Marine Division consisting of two fire boats. These units all require ongoing training that focuses on the particular discipline of specialization.

The Arson Squad within the Fire Division investigates the origin and cause of fires. This unit operates 24/7 and responds to all building fires or other fires that appear to be suspicious in nature.

The Fire Division also offers a Fire Preventions Bureau, which is responsible for enforcing the Uniform Code of the State of New Jersey to protect the lives and property of the citizens and visitors of Newark. And our Community Relations Division educates the community on fire safety.

The Fire Division also operates a Special Services Division which supplies firefighting equipment and gear to our personnel.

Fire Dept Headquarters

480 Clinton Avenue
Newark, NJ 07108
(973) 733-6007